
BATTLE COMPANIES
Designer’s Commentary, August 2022

The following commentary is intended to complement 
the Battle Companies supplement. It is presented as a series 
of questions and answers; the questions are based on 
ones that have been asked by players, and the answers 
are provided by the rules writing team and explain how 
the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help 
provide a default setting for your games, but players should 
always feel free to discuss the rules before a game, and 
change things as they see fi t if they both want to do so 
(changes like this are usually referred to as ‘house rules’). 

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes 
are made any changes from the previous version will be 
highlighted in magenta. Where the update has a note, e.g. 
‘Regional update’, this means it has had a local update, 
only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

These questions have been gathered from many sources. 
We are always happy to consider more questions, so please 
send any queries to: 

middle-earthfaq@gwplc.com 

Q: If the rider of a Cavalry model is slain, but their mount 
stays on the board, will the model still gain Experience Points 
for any kills subsequently made by the mount? (p.7)
A: Yes!

Q: Can I spend Infl uence Points to decrease a Reinforcement 
roll? (p.8)
A: Yes.

Q: How many points do Magical Powers add onto a Hero
model’s point’s value? (p.9)
A: None.

Q: Do Heroic Actions gained by a Hero increase their points 
cost? (p.9)
A: No.

Q: If a Warrior model rolls A Hero in the Making on the 
Warrior Progression chart, can they choose a lower result 
instead? (p.12)
A: No, the Warrior is clearly destined for greatness and 
must take up the mantle of being a Hero!

Q: For the purposes of promoting Warrior models, is it the 
starting wargear or the wargear present at the time of promotion 
that determines what a model promotes into? For example, if I 
start with a Warrior of Rohan with bow and then discard the 
bow and purchase a shield, will they promote into a Rider of 
Rohan (as if they had a bow) or a Rohan Royal Guard (as if 
they had a shield)? (p.12)
A: A model will promote based on the wargear they 
currently hold at the time of promotion; so, in the above 
example the Warrior of Rohan would become a Rohan 
Royal Guard. However, if a model has enough wargear that 
would mean they could, in theory, promote in multiple 
ways (for example, a Warrior of Rohan with bow and 
shield), then the controlling player may choose how they 
promote.

Q: If a Battle Company hires a Wanderer, gains wargear 
through captured tiles, or gains wargear through the campaign, 
can a Hero from that Battle Company purchase this wargear 
for themselves even though it is not in the Armoury and not 
normally available to any member of their Battle Company? 
(p.18)
A: No. A Hero may only purchase wargear that is in the 
Armoury if it is available to a member of their usual Battle 
Company, or listed as unique wargear on their Battle 
Company’s page. Not if it is available to another model 
that joins from another source.

Q: Can Hero models purchase wargear that is not part of the 
Armoury or listed as Unique Wargear for the Battle Company; 
for example, armour, Elven cloaks, Twin Blades, Pavise, etc.? 
(p.19)
A: No.

Q: If I already have 14 members in my Battle Company, and 
I roll a Vault Warden Team for my reinforcements roll, what 
happens? (p.46-47)
A: The Vault Warden Team will be added as normal, 
even though this will take your Battle Company above 
the maximum of 15 models. Should another model be 
slain later to take your Battle Company back down to 15 
models, they may not be replaced as you will now be back 
to the maximum number allowed. 

Q: If one member of a Vault Warden Team dies, how many 
points will the remaining member cost as the points cost for a 
Vault Warden Team is for both members? (p.46-47)
A: It will cost half the number of points, rounding down. 
So, a Vault Warden Team is normally 25 points, so one 
surviving member would cost 12 points.



Q: If one member of a Vault Warden Team dies, can another 
member of the Battle Company be upgraded to replace them? 
(p.47)
A: No.

Q: As a Cave Troll is not listed as being (Rare 1), can I have 
more than one of them in my Moria Battle Company? (p.58)
A: Yes. So long as you have enough Influence Points of 
course!

Q: Can a Cave Troll purchase a Troll Chain as it has one in its 
profile? If so, how many Influence Points will it cost to buy one? 
(p.58)
A: Yes. It will cost the same as a normal throwing weapon 
from the Armoury.

Q: How many points do Broodlings add onto a Denizens of 
Mirkwood Battle Company? (p.63)
A: 5 points each.

Q: Do bows carried by Haradrim Warriors and Haradrim 
Raiders have Poisoned Arrows? (p.64 & 65)
A: Yes.

Q: Do Corsair Reavers treat the Leader and Sergeants as a 
Bo’sun for the purpose of their Mindless Killers special rule? 
(p.67)
A: Yes.

Q: If I wipe my opponent’s Battle Company out before either 
player has achieved their victory conditions, do I still win? 
(p.71)
A: Yes.

Q: If a Hero isn’t wearing any type of armour, but a member 
of their Battle Company has the ability to take a type of armour 
(armour, heavy armour, etc.), can the Hero purchase a type of 
armour from the Armoury? (p.73)
A: No. The only option a Hero has is to upgrade armour 
to heavy armour. If the Hero doesn’t have any armour then 
they cannot choose this option. This will likely be because 
the Hero in question has made a name for themselves as 
a ranger, scout or some similar role that doesn’t require 
armour and taking some would only hinder their natural 
talents.

Q: In the Recovery scenario, can models move the Relic off 
any board edge, or just their opponent’s board edge as per the 
objectives? (p.74)
A: Only your opponent’s board edge. 

Q: In the Wolves Attack Scenario, does the Wargs force become 
Broken if they are reduced to 50% of their starting number? 
(p76)
A: The Wargs cannot be Broken in this Scenario.

Q: In the Tame the Beast Scenario, how do we resolve a fight 
including the Troll and members from both Battle Companies? 
(p.78)
A: Each side will roll their dice simultaneously, with the 
highest single D6 winning the overall fight. Models may 
still only strike enemies they are directly Engaged with.

Q: Is a captured Hero model’s points cost added onto the Battle 
Company’s rating for the A Daring Rescue Scenario? (p.81)
A: No.

Q: What happens if A Daring Rescue is rolled when neither 
Battle Company has a Hero lost in battle? (p.81)
A: Re-roll the Scenario.

Q: What happens if A Daring Rescue is rolled when a Battle 
Company has multiple Hero models lost in battle? (p.81)
A: Play the Scenario with one of the Hero models first, and 
then roll again to determine if you need to play A Daring 
Rescue or Secure the Area to rescue the other Hero.

Q: In the A Daring Rescue Scenario, can the Defender target 
the prisoner with shooting attacks? (p.81)
A: No.

Q: In the Baggage Train Scenario, where do the Baggage Ponies 
start? (p.82)
A: Anywhere touching the southern board edge.

Q: Do models gain Experience Points for killing Baggage 
Ponies? (p.82)
A: No, they are only a pony after all!

Q: In Map-based Campaigns, some special territories give 
bonuses to certain rolls such as the Shire giving +1 to the Injury 
Chart and Minas Tirith giving +1 to Reinforcement rolls. Are 
these bonuses optional? (p.107-109)
A: Yes.
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Official Errata, August 2022
The following errata correct errors in Battle Companies. 
The errata are updated regularly; when changes are made 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where the update has a note, e.g. ‘Regional 
update’, this means it has had a local update, only in that 
language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor 
correction.

Errata
Page 27 – Wandering Dwarf
Change the Wandering Dwarf’s Move value to 5".

Page 34 – Rohan
Add the following:
Riders of Rohan in this Battle Company do not count 
towards your Bow Limit.

Page 54 – Isengard
Change all instances of Orc bow on this page to Uruk-hai 
bow.

Page 82 – Baggage Train – Objectives
Change the objectives to read:
Attacker Victory – The Attacker has at least three pieces of 
cargo in their possession at the end of the game.
Defender Victory – At least three pieces of cargo and at 
least one model that is not a Baggage Pony have escaped 
the board via the northern board edge.
Draw – Any other result.

Various Pages – Magical Powers
Below are the ranges for the Magical Powers found within 
this supplement:
Aura of Dismay 6"
Blinding Light – 
Call Winds 12" 
Command/Compel 12"
Enchanted Blades 6"
Flameburst 6"
Fury (X) – 
Immobilise/Transfix 12"
Instill Fear 3"
Wither 12"


