
DEFENCE OF THE NORTH
Designer’s Commentary, February 2024

The following commentary is intended to complement 
the Defence of the North supplement. It is presented as a 
series of questions and answers; the questions are based 
on ones that have been asked by players, and the answers 
are provided by the rules writing team and explain how 
the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help 
provide a default setting for your games, but players should 
always feel free to discuss the rules before a game, and 
change things as they see fit if they both want to do so 
(changes like this are usually referred to as ‘house rules’). 

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes 
are made any changes from the previous version will be 
highlighted in magenta. Where the update has a note,  
e.g. ‘Regional update’, this means it has had a local update, 
only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

These questions have been gathered from many sources. 
We are always happy to consider more questions, so please 
send any queries to: 

middle-earthfaq@gwplc.com 

Q: Can Grimbeorn transform into bear form if there isn’t 
enough space to place the bear model? If so, what happens? 
(p.68)
A: Yes, so long as the only things in the way are models and 
not immovable terrain. In this instance Grimbeorn will be 
placed so that the centre of the Bear model’s base is where 
the Man model was previously. Then move any displaced 
models the minimum distance possible so that they are 
1” away from Grimbeorn. In this situation, players take 
it in turns to displace models, starting with Grimbeorn’s 
controlling player. Grimbeorn may then move normally.

Q: When Grimbeorn transforms into bear-form, does the Bear 
model have to be centred over the Man model or does it only 
need to be overlapping part of the Man model? (p.68)
A: The Bear model only needs to be overlapping part of 
the Man model. When Grimbeorn transforms into a Bear, 
the Bear model must be placed so that it is not displacing 
any models if possible.

Q: If Grimbeorn has to displace models when he transforms, 
can this force models out of combat or into combat with another 
model if they would end up in base contact with an enemy 
model? (p.68)
A: No to both instances. Models that were in combat when 
displaced will remain in combat with the models they are 
engaged with. In the odd situation that a model would  
be displaced into base contact with an enemy model,  
they will not count as being in combat with that model 
unless they subsequently charge that model.

Q: Can Grimbeorn use his Skin-changer special rule when he 
moves as part of a Heroic Combat (p.68)
A: Yes. 

Q: Can Grimbeorn transform into a Bear before he moves onto 
the board in scenarios where this applies? (p.68)
A: No.

Q: What exactly can Grimbeorn (and as a result, Beornings) be 
allied with outside of the Beornings Legendary Legion? (p.68)
A: Treat Grimbeorn in the same manner as all other 
Wanderers in the Wild. As a result, Grimbeorn has his 
own list of what he can ally with provided in his profile. 
Beornings can then be included in Grimbeorn’s warband 
as normal.

Q: Do special rules that affect both the rider and mount  
(such as a war camel’s Impaler special rule) affect both the 
Dragon Emperor of Rhûn and the Royal Palanquin? (p.73)
A: Yes, though this still doesn’t make the Dragon Emperor 
of Rhûn a Cavalry model.

Q: Can Magical Powers that affect either the rider and mount 
(such as Black Dart or Wither) be used to target either the 
Dragon Emperor of Rhûn or the Royal Palanquin? (p.73)
A: Yes, though this still doesn’t make the Dragon Emperor 
of Rhûn a Cavalry model. 

Q: When a Magical Power targets the whole model  
(such as Bladewrath or Paralyse), will this affect both the 
Dragon Emperor of Rhûn and the Royal Palanquin? (p.73)
A: Yes.



Q: If the Royal Palanquin is affected by a Magical Power 
that permanently reduces a characteristic (Wither or Drain 
Courage), and then the Dragon Emperor of Rhûn subsequently 
dismounts, are the Black Dragons that replace the Royal 
Palanquin also affected by the original Magical Power? (p.73)
A: Yes. Additionally, if the Royal Palanquin is affected by 
the Wither Magical Power, it will also reduce the Strength 
of the Strikes that the Royal Palanquin makes if the Dragon 
Emperor of Rhûn wins the Fight.

Q: If the Balrog or the Watcher in the Water hits the Dragon 
Emperor of Rhûn or his Royal Palanquin with their Fiery Lash 
or Tentacles special rule respectively, is the whole model dragged 
into combat or just the part that was hit? (p.73)
A: Both rules state the model, so it will be the whole 
model.

Q: How many models does the Dragon Emperor of Rhûn count 
as when determining a force’s Break Point? (p.73)
A: The Dragon Emperor of Rhûn and his Royal Palanquin 
will count as a single model when determining a force’s 
Break Point. Only the Dragon Emperor needs to be slain 
for the model to count as a casualty towards the force 
being Broken. Additionally, any Black Dragons that 
replace the Royal Palanquin, such as when the Dragon 
Emperor dismounts or is slain, will not increase a force’s 
Break Point; however, each one that is subsequently slain 
will count as a separate casualty towards the force being 
Broken.

Q: If a Magical Power such as Sorcerous Blast or Tremor hits 
the Dragon Emperor of Rhûn whilst he is riding his Royal 
Palanquin, how many hits will the Royal Palanquin take? 
(p.73)
A: One. The Royal Palanquin is essentially a single mount 
with 6 Wounds, and should be treated as such. When the 
Dragon Emperor dismounts, you simply replace the Royal 
Palanquin with a number of Black Dragons equal to its 
remaining Wounds.

Q: If the Dragon Emperor of Rhûn dismounts either normally or 
as part of a Heroic Combat, can the Black Dragons that replace 
the Royal Palanquin move themselves during that move or 
Heroic Combat? (p.73)
A: No.

Q: If an Ent model targets the Dragon Emperor with the 
Bludgeon Brutal Power Attack whilst he is riding his  
Royal Palanquin, will the Dragon Emperor automatically  
be dismounted as per the rules for Bludgeon? (p.73)
A: Yes.

Q: Does Razgûsh’s Bone-breaker remove all special rules 
associated with an enemy model’s Elven-made weapon, or does 
it just negate the bonus for winning the roll-off in the case of a 
tied fight? (p.80)
A: Bone-breaker only removes the bonus for winning the 
roll-off in the case of a tied fight. Any other special rules 
associated with the Elven-made weapon will still apply.

Q: When Razgûsh’s War Leader of the North special rule 
references Orc Captains, is that only the Orc Captain profile 
or any profile that includes the words Orc Captain, such as 
Zagdûsh, Orc Captain; Morannon Orc Captain or Gorbag,  
Orc Captain? (p.80)
A: Only the Orc Captain profile.

Q: In the Defenders of Erebor Legendary Legion, do friendly 
models need to be within 3” of all the listed characters to benefit 
from the Royal Bloodlines special rule or just within 3” of any of 
them? (p.89)
A: Within 3” of any of them.

Q: Do Orc Captains, Orc Warriors and Warg Riders retain the 
Hatred (Elf) special rule granted by Razgûsh’s War Leader of 
the North special rule even after he is slain? (p.95)
A: Yes.

Q: If the Assault on Lothlórien Legendary Legion is playing the 
Clash By Moonlight Scenario, will the Scenario’s Dark of Night 
special rule stack with the Legendary Legion’s Cover of Darkness 
special rule to give models +2 To Wound when making shooting 
attacks? (p.97)
A: No, the bonus is only applied once.

Q: When using the Assault on Lothlórien Legendary Legion, 
do the FAQs that affect the Dark of Night special rule from the 
Clash by Moonlight scenario also apply to the Cover of Darkness 
special rule? (p.97)
A: Yes.

Q: In the Assault on Lothlórien Legendary Legion, can Drûzhag 
take Fell Wargs in his warband even though they are not listed 
as part of the Legendary Legion? (p.97)
A: No.

Q: In the Assault on Lothlórien Legendary Legion, do supporting 
models gain the +1 bonus To Wound for the Ruthless Savagery 
special rule? (p.97)
A: No.
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The following errata correct errors in Defence of the North. 
The errata are updated regularly; when changes are made 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where the update has a note, e.g. ‘Regional 
update’, this means it has had a local update, only in that 
language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor 
correction.

Errata:
Page 52 – Garrison of Dale
Add Windlance to the army composition. 

Page 63 – Orophin
Add the Woodland Creature special rule. 

Page 69 – Beornings – Wargear
Change to:
Hand-and-a-half axe and axe.

Page 70 – The Easterlings
Add Khamûl the Easterling to the army composition. 

Page 72 – The Dragon Emperor of Rhûn 
Change the Dragon Emperor of Rhûn’s points value  
to 200, both on his profile and in the Host of the Dragon 
Emperor Legendary Legion on page 93.

Page 91 – The Beornings – Additional Rules
Add the following bullet point:
Whilst he is in bear form, Beorn may still benefit from 
the Heroic Actions of Grimbeorn regardless of his Berserk 
special rule.

Page 91 – The Beornings – Great Resilience
Change the second sentence to read:
On a natural 6 the Wound is ignored just as if a point of 
Fate had been spent.

Page 97 – Assault on Lothlórien – Additional Rules
Add the following to the first bullet point:
Muzgúr must always be the army’s leader.

Page 97 – Assault on Lothlórien – Additional Rules
Add the following bullet point:
This Legendary Legion may not include more Goblin 
models than Orc models.


