
GONDOR AT WAR
Designer’s Commentary, August 2023

The following commentary is intended to complement 
the Gondor at War supplement. It is presented as a series of 
questions and answers; the questions are based on ones 
that have been asked by players, and the answers are 
provided by the rules writing team and explain how the 
rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help 
provide a default setting for your games, but players should 
always feel free to discuss the rules before a game, and 
change things as they see fi t if they both want to do so 
(changes like this are usually referred to as ‘house rules’). 

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes 
are made any changes from the previous version will be 
highlighted in magenta. Where the update has a note, e.g. 
‘Regional update’, this means it has had a local update, 
only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

These questions have been gathered from many sources. 
We are always happy to consider more questions, so please 
send any queries to: 

middle-earthfaq@gwplc.com 

Q: In the Streets of Minas Tirith Scenario, where do the Mordor 
Trolls deploy? (p.28)
A: Deploy a Mordor Troll in each section in the same way 
as the Morannon Orcs.

Q: In the Battle of Pelennor Fields Scenario, how many 
Blackroot Vale Archers are required? (p.58)
A: 12.

Q: Ingold’s Resolute Fighter special rule states that he doesn’t 
Back Away. Does this mean he cannot be Trapped? (p.78)
A: No. Even though Ingold doesn’t Back Away, he will still 
count as being Trapped for the purposes of doubling Strikes, 
and other special rules that require a model to be Trapped.

Q: Ingold’s Resolute Fighter states that he does not Back Away. 
Does this mean that he is immune to the Barge Brutal Power 
Attack? (p.78)
A: No, if Ingold is Barged he will still Back Away as described 
in the Brutal Power Attack. This is an exception to the 
Resolute Fighter special rule that states Ingold never Backs 
Away.

Q: Do I still get Victory Points for wounding the enemy leader if 
my opponent still has Húrin alive and on the board? (p.79)
A: Yes. Húrin only prevents Victory Points from being 
scored for killing the enemy leader.

Q: If Flói Stonehand removes Húrin’s Line of Command special 
rule during a turn, and then the leader in the same army as 
Húrin is slain during the same turn, does the opposing player 
gain Victory Points for slaying the enemy leader? (p.79)
A: No, as Victory Points are only calculated at the end of 
the game.

Q: Does Dernhelm count as two models (Éowyn and Merry) for 
the purpose of calculating model count and Break Point? (p.84)
A: Yes.

Q: As Dernhelm is essentially Éowyn and Merry, can they 
both declare a different Heroic Action in the same phase? For 
example, can Dernhelm declare a Heroic Strike and Merry also 
declare a Heroic Combat in the same turn? (p.84)
A: No. Whilst Merry is mounted upon Dernhelm’s steed, 
they are a single model and therefore may only declare a 
single Heroic Action in each phase. 

Q: If Merry dismounts from Dernhelm, can he remount during 
a later turn? (p.84)
A: No.

Q: If Merry dismounts from Dernhelm, does she immediately 
revert to the Éowyn profi le? (p.84)
A: Yes. The Dernhelm profi le is only used when both 
Éowyn and Merry are mounted together on the same 
horse.

Q: Can Elfhelm re-roll his In The Way roll against a Cavalry 
model for seeing if he hits the rider or the mount? (p.85)
A: Yes.

Q: Can Déorwine, Chief of the King’s Knights, use his For 
Théoden! special rule to declare a free Heroic Combat if he is 
already in the same combat as Théoden? (p.85)
A: No. 

Q: When deploying any models from The Mûmak War Leader’s 
warband outside of the Howdah, do you measure from the 
Mûmak’s base or the War Leader (who does not have a base)? 
(p.96)
A: From the Mûmak’s base.



Q: The rules for the Mûmak War Leader state that he may 
include Haradrim Warriors in his warband from the Serpent 
Horde army list as if they were from the Far Harad army list. 
Does this mean they lose the Serpent Horde Army Bonus as they 
are no longer part of that list? (p.96)
A: Yes. However, remember that the Far Harad army list 
doesn’t have any bows, so any Haradrim Warriors with 
bows that you include will be the only models that have 
bows towards your Bow Limit.

Q: If multiple Corsair Warrior models in the same fight 
choose to re-roll a single dice for Delgamar’s Ruthless 
Commander special rule, what happens if some of the models 
don’t roll high enough to win the Duel roll, but other models 
do? (p.99)
A: In this case, no models will suffer the Strength 2 hit as 
the Duel roll was won by the Corsair player. If none of the 
models re-rolled high enough to win the fight, then any 
models that chose to re-roll would suffer the hit.

Q: If the Mûmak War Leader declares a Heroic Challenge 
whilst atop his Royal War Mûmak, as per The Making of a King 
special rule, and is successful, who gains the Might points back 
– the Mûmak War Leader or the Mûmak itself? (p.116)
A: The Mûmak War Leader.

Q: When part of the Grand Army of the South Legendary 
Legion, can the Mûmak War Leader declare a Heroic Combat 
whilst atop the Royal War Mûmak if it is Engaged with the 
enemy leader as per The Making of a King special rule? (p.116)
A: Yes.

Q: In the Black Gate Opens Legendary Legion, do supporting 
models gain the +1 bonus To Wound for the Hordes of Mordor 
special rule? (p.119)
A: No.



Official Errata, August 2023
The following errata correct errors in Gondor at War.  
The errata are updated regularly; when changes are made 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where the update has a note, e.g. ‘Regional 
update’, this means it has had a local update, only in  
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other  
minor correction.

Errata
Page 88 – Mordor
Add the following to the Mordor army list:
The Witch-king of Angmar counts as a Hero of Legend if 
taken as part of a Mordor army list. 

Page 103 – Rangers of Ithilien – Additional Rules
Replace the second bullet point with the following:
A Rangers of Ithilien Force must always include Frodo, Sam  
and Sméagol.

Page 109 – The Riders of Théoden – Additional Rules
Add the following additional rule:
Riders of Rohan within this Legendary Legion do not count 
towards your force’s Bow Limit.

Page 109 – The Riders of Théoden
Add the following option to Dernhelm:
Throwing spears – 5 points.
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