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BATTLETOME: SKAVEN
DESIGNERS’ COMMENTARY, FEBRUARY 2024
The following commentary is intended to complement Battletome: 
Skaven. It is presented as a series of questions and answers; the 
questions are based on ones that have been asked by players, and 
the answers are provided by the rules writing team and explain how 
the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help provide a 
default setting for your games, but players should always feel free to 
discuss the rules before a game, and change things as they see fit if 
they both want to do so (changes like this are usually referred to as 
‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes are made, 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in 
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it 
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation 
issue or other minor correction.

Q: Do modifiers apply to charge rolls for a Hell Pit Abomination that 
has the ‘Lumbering Behemoth’ mutation?
A: Yes.

Q: Do units that are set up hidden inside another unit e.g. Weapon 
Teams and Deathmasters count as being set up for the purposes of 
alternating deployment?
A: No.

Q: If I use the ‘Warpstone Addiction’ or ‘Warpstone Tokens’ to roll 3D6 
for a casting roll, and the 3D6 roll is not 13, can the 2D6 that I use as 
the casting roll be re-rolled or modified?
A: No.

Q: Can you clarify the maximum range a melee weapon can have from 
the ‘Strength in Numbers’ battle trait?
A: The maximum Range a melee weapon can ever have from 
‘Strength in Numbers’ is 3". For example, a Plague Monks unit with 
Foetid Blades and Woe-staves has a Range characteristic of 2". With 
10 models in the unit, the Range is increased to 3". The Range of its 
Foetid Blades and Woe-staves would remain at 3" even if that unit 
had 20 or 30 models.

Q: Can a unit of Clanrats or Stormvermin that has a Weapon Team 
hiding inside of it join a Warp-Grinder that is set up in reserve?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a Grey Seer on Screaming Bell be given a prayer scripture 
enhancement when it is treated as having the Priest keyword?
A: No.

Q: If I use the Brass Orb to remove an enemy unit from the battlefield, 
what happens to that unit if my opponent cannot set it back up again 
wholly within their territory and more than 9" from all enemy units?
A: The unit is destroyed.

Q: When using the ‘Gnawbomb’ artefact of power on a terrain feature, 
does the terrain feature become impassable?
A: No.

Q: In a reinforced unit of Stormfiends, can I have 1 model equipped 
with Grinderfists and 1 model equipped with Ratling Cannons and 
Clubbing Blows (or 1 model equipped with Doomflayer Gauntlets and 
Warpstone-laced Armour and 1 model equipped with Shock Gauntlets 
and Warpstone-laced Armour)?
A: Yes. 

Q: If a command is interrupted and not received as a result of the 
‘Diabolical Schemer’ command trait, does that command still count as 
having been issued?
A: Yes.

Q: If I have cast ‘Death Frenzy’ and ‘Dreaded Death Frenzy’ on the 
same unit, do models in that unit that are slain get to fight twice before 
they are removed?
A: No.

ERRATA, FEBRUARY 2024
The following errata correct errors in Battletome: Skaven. The errata 
are updated regularly; when changes are made, any changes from the 
previous version will be highlighted in magenta. Where the date has 
a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction.

Page 66 – Always Three Clawsteps Ahead
Change the second paragraph of rules text to:
‘After you pick a friendly Skaven unit to be your first unit to run in a 
phase and make a run roll for that unit, you can use that unmodified 
run roll in place of any other run rolls you make for friendly Skaven 
units until the end of that phase.’

Page 66 – Always Three Clawsteps Ahead
Change the third paragraph of rules text to:
‘After you pick a friendly Skaven unit to be your first unit to attempt 
a charge in a phase and make a charge roll for that unit, you can use 
that unmodified charge roll in place of any other charge rolls you 
make for friendly Skaven units until the end of that phase.’

Page 74 – Lore of Ruin
Change the keyword restriction to:
‘Grey Seer (including Unique units) only.’

Page 75 – Noxious Prayers
Change the keyword restriction to:
‘Clans Pestilens Priest (including Unique units) only.’

Page 87 – Battle Tactics
Add the following battle tactic:
‘Flee-flee!: You complete this battle tactic at the end of the turn if 2 or 
more friendly Skaven units retreated this turn.’
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Page 96 – Grey Seer on Screaming Bell, Pushed into Battle
Delete the ‘Pushed into Battle’ rule.

Page 99 – Warlock Engineer, More-more Warp Energy!
Change the first sentence of the rule to: 
‘Before you determine the number of attacks made with a Warp-
energy Blade, you can say that the engineer has overloaded 
its generator.’

Page 99 – Warlock Bombardier, More-more Doomrocket!
Change the first sentence of the rule to: 
‘Before you determine the number of attacks made with a 
Doomrocket, you can say that the engineer has overloaded 
its warhead.’

Page 102 – Warpfire Thrower, Hidden Weapon Team
Change to:
‘When you select this unit to be part of your army, you can pick 1 
friendly Clanrats or Stormvermin unit that has 10 or more 
models and is already part of your army to be the unit in which this 
unit is hiding. Record this information on a separate piece of paper. 
Do not set up this unit until it is revealed as described next. You 
can hide up to 1 Warpfire Thrower, Ratling Gun or Doom-
Flayer unit in a Clanrats or Stormvermin unit for every 10 
models in that Clanrats or Stormvermin unit. Hidden Weapon 
Team units are destroyed if the unit in which they are hiding is 
destroyed before they are revealed.

At the start of your shooting phase, you can reveal this hidden unit. If 
you do so, set up this unit wholly within 3" of the unit in which it was 
hiding and more than 3" from all enemy units. This unit can shoot 
in the phase in which it is revealed as long as the unit in which it was 
hiding did not run in the same turn (it could have retreated).

Page 103 – Ratling Gun, Hidden Weapon Team
Change to:
‘When you select this unit to be part of your army, you can pick 1 
friendly Clanrats or Stormvermin unit that has 10 or more 
models and is already part of your army to be the unit in which this 
unit is hiding. Record this information on a separate piece of paper. 
Do not set up this unit until it is revealed as described next. You 
can hide up to 1 Warpfire Thrower, Ratling Gun or Doom-
Flayer unit in a Clanrats or Stormvermin unit for every 10 
models in that Clanrats or Stormvermin unit. Hidden Weapon 
Team units are destroyed if the unit in which they are hiding is 
destroyed before they are revealed.

At the start of your shooting phase, you can reveal this hidden unit. If 
you do so, set up this unit wholly within 3" of the unit in which it was 
hiding and more than 3" from all enemy units. This unit can shoot 
in the phase in which it is revealed as long as the unit in which it was 
hiding did not run in the same turn (it could have retreated).

Page 104 – Doom-Flayer, Hidden Weapon Team
Change to:
‘When you select this unit to be part of your army, you can pick 1 
friendly Clanrats or Stormvermin unit that has 10 or more 
models and is already part of your army to be the unit in which this 
unit is hiding. Record this information on a separate piece of paper. 
Do not set up this unit until it is revealed as described next. You 
can hide up to 1 Warpfire Thrower, Ratling Gun or Doom-
Flayer unit in a Clanrats or Stormvermin unit for every 10 
models in that Clanrats or Stormvermin unit. Hidden Weapon 
Team units are destroyed if the unit in which they are hiding is 
destroyed before they are revealed.

At the end of your charge phase, you can reveal this hidden unit if 
the unit in which it was hiding made a charge move in that phase. If 
you do so, set up this unit wholly within 3" of the unit in which it was 
hiding (it can be set up within 3" of any enemy units and can fight in 
the following combat phase). A unit set up with this ability is treated 
as having charged in the same turn.’

Page 106 – Plague Priest on Plague Furnace, Pushed into Battle
Delete the ‘Pushed into Battle’ rule.
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