
GENERAL’S HANDBOOK:
PITCHED BATTLES 2023-24

DESIGNERS’ COMMENTARY,  
FEBRUARY 2024
The following commentary is intended to complement the General’s 
Handbook: Pitched Battles 2023-24. It is presented as a series of 
questions and answers; the questions are based on ones that have 
been asked by players, and the answers are provided by the rules 
writing team and explain how the rules are intended to be used. The 
commentaries help provide a default setting for your games, but 
players should always feel free to discuss the rules before a game, and 
change things as they see fit if they both want to do so (changes like 
this are usually referred to as ‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes are made, 
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in 
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it 
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation 
issue or other minor correction.

Q: If I take an enhancement which allows a unit in my army to 
become a Wizard (e.g. Arcane Tome), can I include any Nullstone 
Adornments in my army?
A: No.

Q: If an ability effect triggers when one of the dice rolls in a casting 
roll is a certain number (for example, the Infernal Enrapturess’s 
Discordant Disruption ability), should primal magic dice be 
considered as part of the casting roll?
A: No. Primal magic dice modify the casting roll; they are not part 
of it.

Q: If a unit in my army is not a Wizard but has an ability which 
allows them to automatically cast a spell (for example the Spell in 
a Bottle enhancement), can I include any Nullstone Adornments in 
my army?
A: No.

Q: Can an allied unit take a spell from the Lore of Primal Frost?
A: No.

Q: If a Hero is given a Nullstone Adornment, can I give that Hero 
an artefact of power afterwards?
A: No.

Q: When players roll to see if they receive primal magic dice at the 
start of the hero phase, do both players roll their dice at the same time?
A: Yes.

Q: Is a primal miscast the same as a miscast?
A: No. A primal miscast occurs instead of a miscast. If an ability has 
an effect that triggers when a spell is miscast (for example, the Skull 
Altar’s Witchbane ability), the effect does not apply.

Q: What happens if I use primal magic dice to supplement a casting 
roll that was made with 3 or more D6 and my roll includes two or 
more 1s and two or more 6s?
A: The caster suffers a primal miscast and the spell is not 
successfully cast.

Q: Can Destiny Dice be spent to replace a primal magic dice?
A: No.

Q: How do re-rolls work with primal magic dice?
A: If an ability or effect allows a player to choose whether to re-roll 
a casting roll, such as a friendly Shrine Luminor’s Cleansing Rituals 
ability, the player cannot use primal magic dice to supplement that 
casting roll. If an ability or effect forces a player to re-roll a casting 
roll, such as an enemy Infernal Enrapturess’s Discordant Disruption 
ability, the player can still use primal magic dice to supplement that 
casting roll.

Q: When I pick units to place in reserve using Outflank in the ‘Spring 
the Trap’ battleplan, can I pick a friendly unit that has an ability that 
says it cannot be set up in reserve or cannot be set up again, such as 
Gotrek Gurnisson?
A: No.

Q: When I pick units to place in reserve using Outflank in the ‘Spring 
the Trap’ battleplan, can I pick a friendly Transport Vessel that 
has units embarked in it to be placed in reserve?
A: Yes, but you must also pick each embarked unit to be placed in 
reserve too. If you do so, when that Transport Vessel is set up on 
the battlefield, any units that were embarked in it are still embarked 
in it.

Q: Can units that contain 1 or more models that are Wizards – for 
example, Lumineth Realm-lords Vanari Auralan Sentinels units – be 
included in the Wizard-finders of Andtor battalion? 
A: No.

Q: Is a unit that contains 1 or more models that are Wizards – for 
example, a Lumineth Realm-lords Vanari Auralan Sentinels unit – 
considered to be a Wizard if it is picked to be the target of attacks 
made by an enemy unit in the Wizard-finders of Andtor battalion?
A: Yes, as long as the conditions that make that model a Wizard 
are satisfied. For instance, if a Vanari Auralan Sentinels unit has 
5 or more models, that unit is considered to be a Wizard for the 
purposes of the Magic Hunters ability in the Wizard-finders of 
Andtor battalion.

Q: If I use an ability to automatically cast a spell with a set casting 
roll, such as the Scinari Cathallar’s Deep Thinkers ability, but the set 
casting roll is below the casting value of that spell, is that spell cast 
or not?
A: No.

Q: If a Priest has a Hand-carved Nullstone Icon, how many spells 
or endless spells can it attempt to unbind or dispel in the enemy 
hero phase?
A: One. If that attempt is successful, that unit can attempt to unbind 
another spell or dispel another endless spell, and so on until the 
attempt fails.
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Q: If my general has the Shaman of the Chilled Lands command trait, 
it knows all of the spells from the Lore of Primal Frost. Can I also pick 
another spell from a different spell lore for this Hero to know as its 
spell lore enhancement?
A: Yes.

Q: Can Unique units be given a Nullstone Adornment?
A: No.

Q: Can I summon a Wizard if my army does not contain any 
Wizards and a friendly Hero has a Nullstone Adornment?
A: Yes.

Q: If I summon a Wizard that meets the criteria to be an 
Andtorian Locus, can I pick a spell from the Lore of Primal Frost 
to give to that Wizard?
A: Yes.

ERRATA, FEBRUARY 2024
The following errata correct errors in the General’s Handbook: 
Pitched Battles 2022-23 – Season 2. The errata are updated regularly; 
when changes are made, any changes from the previous version will 
be highlighted in magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 
2’, this means it has had a local update, only in that language, to 
clarify a translation issue or other minor correction.

Page 12 – Primal Magic
Change the first sentence of the third paragraph of the rule to:
‘When a primal magic dice modifies a casting roll, if two or more of 
the dice in the casting roll and primal magic dice are 1s, the caster 
suffers a primal miscast instead of a miscast.’

Page 12 – Primal Magic
Change the first sentence of the fourth paragraph of the rule to:
‘When a primal magic dice modifies a casting roll, if two or more 
of the dice in the casting roll and primal magic dice are 6s, and the 
caster did not suffer a primal miscast, the spell is successfully cast 
and cannot be unbound.’

Page 14 – Lore of Primal Frost, Hoarfrost
Add the following:
‘While a characteristic has been changed by the effects of this spell, 
that characteristic cannot be further changed or modified.

Designer’s Note: While characteristics can’t be further changed 
or modified, this doesn’t prevent dice rolls from being modified; 
for example, you could still use an ability to add 1 to hit rolls after 
using Hoarfrost.’

Page 14 – Lore of Primal Frost, Rupture
Change to:
‘Rupture is a spell that has a casting value of 10 and a range of 18". If 
successfully cast, resolve 1 of the following effects:

• �Pick 1 enemy Incarnate within range and visible to the caster. 
Inflict D3 mortal wounds on the unit bonded to that Incarnate. 
Then, that Incarnate immediately loses a power level (to a 
minimum of 1) and becomes wild.

• �Pick 1 predatory endless spell within range and visible to the 
caster that was summoned by an enemy Wizard. Inflict D3 
mortal wounds on that enemy Wizard. Then, that endless spell 
is dispelled.’

Page 14 – Lore of Primal Frost, Merciless Blizzard
Add the following to the end of the rule:
‘This spell cannot be cast by a unit that was set up or moved earlier in 
this phase.’

Page 16 – Core Battalions, Infantry
Change to:
‘Infantry: Unit with a Wounds characteristic of 4 or less that is not 
Leader, Artillery or Behemoth and does not have mounts (with the 
exception of companions)’

Page 16 – Core Battalions, Champion
Change to:
‘Champion: Hero with a Wounds characteristic of less than 10, that 
does not have a mount (with the exception of companions) and is 
not Unique’

Page 16 – Wizard-Finders of Andtor, Magic Hunters
Add the following paragraph to the beginning of this ability:
‘Each time a unit in this battalion is affected by a spell cast by an 
enemy unit or the abilities of an endless spell summoned by an 
enemy unit, you can roll a dice. On a 5+, ignore the effect of that spell 
or the effects of that endless spell’s abilities on this unit.’

Page 17 – Grand Strategies, Magic Made Manifest
Change to:
‘When the battle ends, you complete this grand strategy if: 
•	There are 2 or more endless spells on the battlefield that were 

summoned by friendly Wizards; or 
•	There is a friendly Incarnate on the battlefield that is bonded 

to a friendly unit and there are 1 or more endless spells on the 
battlefield that were summoned by friendly Wizards.’

Page 18 – Battle Tactics
Add the following battle tactic:
�‘Drain Their Power: You complete this battle tactic at the end of your 
turn if a friendly Hero with a Nullstone Adornment is contesting an 
objective that was controlled by your opponent at the start of your turn.’

Page 18 – Endless Expropriation
Change to:
‘Pick 1 enemy unit that summoned an endless spell that is on the 
battlefield or that is bonded to an Incarnate. You complete this 
battle tactic at the end of your turn if either of the following are true:
That enemy unit has been destroyed.
That Incarnate is wild.’

Page 18 – Magical Mayhem
Change the second sentence to:
‘You complete this battle tactic if that unit is destroyed by a spell or 
the abilities of an endless spell.’

Page 18 – Led into the Maelstrom
Change to:
‘You complete this battle tactic if all of the following are true:
- At least 2 friendly units charged this turn.
- At least 1 friendly Battleline unit charged this turn.
- At least 1 friendly Hero charged this turn.
- �At least 1 friendly Battleline or Hero unit that charged this turn is 

within 3" of an enemy unit at the end of the turn.’

Page 32 – Spring the Trap, Outflank
Change to:
‘During deployment, after both players have set up their units, starting 
with the attacker, each player can remove D3 friendly units from the 
battlefield (roll once for both players) and place those units in reserve. 
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Starting from the second battle round, at the end of your movement 
phase, you can set up those units you placed in reserve wholly within 6" 
of the battlefield edge and more than 9" from all enemy units.’

Page 38 – Power Flux, Victory Points
Change the fourth bullet point to: 
‘Score 1 victory point if any enemy Wizard Hero units were 
destroyed in that battle round. This victory point is scored at the end of 
the battle round instead of at the end of each turn.’

Page 42 – No Reward Without Risk, Feedback Overload
Change to:
‘When a Wizard Hero is slain, before removing that model from 
play, roll a dice. On a 4+, the Wizard explodes as their magical 
energies are released uncontrollably. Each unit within a number of 
inches equal to the Wounds characteristic of that Wizard suffers D3 
mortal wounds (roll separately for each unit).’

Page 44 – Towers in the Tundra, Victory Points
Replace the last 2 bullet points with:
‘- �Score 2 victory points if you control the Wizards’ Tower in 

your territory.

- �Score 2 victory points if there are no enemy units contesting the 
Wizard’s Tower in enemy territory.’

Page 46 – Pitched Battle Publications 2023-24
In the Expansions section, remove Wrath of the Everchosen and add 
Dawnbringers Book I: Harbingers.

Page 50 – Malevolent Maelstrom, Morbid Detonation
Change the last paragraph to:
‘When this endless spell is removed from play, if the dice beside it is a 
6, this endless spell explodes. When it explodes, each unit within 9" of 
this endless spell suffers D3 mortal wounds. Wizard Heroes suffer 
3 mortal wounds instead of D3.’

Page 53 – The Burning Head, Flaming Skull
Change to:
‘After this endless spell has moved, the commanding player can pick 
1 enemy unit within 1" of this endless spell and roll a dice. On a 2+, 
this endless spell is removed from play and that enemy unit becomes 
wreathed in flames.

At the end of each movement phase, roll a dice for each unit that 
is wreathed in flames. On a 1-3, that unit is no longer wreathed in 
flames. On a 4+, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds.’

Page 54 – Umbral Spellportal, Arcane Passage
Change the last sentence to:
‘An endless spell set up in this manner does not count as having 
moved but cannot move until the next hero phase.’

Page 55 – Lauchon the Soulseeker
Change the last sentence to:
‘If it is the commanding player’s turn, that Wizard can make a 
normal move or run in the following movement phase.’
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